I'll try not to write a novel on this, as I'm no expert at all, but this is a subject I've broached with a number of other people that are in the know, and I've done a fair amount of research myself on this subject.

Cross drilling/slotting of rotors on street-driven cars don't add too much apart from looks. This is especially true given today's pad compounds that are routinely used on street and semi-track cars. Notice I didn't mention motorcycles, F1 racers or anything else; I'm talking about this application on streetable coupes/sedans that will sometimes see track use. In short, Contours and other "sport" sedans out there...

Longevity

Most blank rotors that are drilled after they've been heat treated (i.e., placed in vats of sand to help them cool off evenly after being formed from the factory) will display a tendancy to form stress cracks or fractures due to the uneven heating and cooling placed upon the rotor. Potentially, all it could take is a couple of splases through puddles, staying on the breaks at a light after hitting and staying on them hard, etc. There is NO argument that longevity is adversely affected by going with a cross-drilled or slotted arrangement. This goes for pads, too as the slots and holes will eat your pads up faster than a blank rotor would.

If you can get a set that have been formed from the factory (Brembo does this, I think) as cross-drilled or have gone through some sort of cryo-treatment (Frozen Rotors or the like) to help strengthen the rotor, then I wouldn't be adverse to recommending them, as long there exists the understanding that you may be purchasing new pads/rotors MUCH sooner than you would otherwise...

Again, understand that going with slotted/cross-drilled in the majority of circumstances is going to shorten your rotor life.

Stopping Power

I've had folks tell me that their cross-drilled rotors have drastically decreased their stopping distances. I doubt this by itself has done this for a number of reasons: