Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 5 of 10 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 9 10
S
New CEG\'er
New CEG\'er
S
I searched for AWD but found little so, sorry if this sounds like a total newbie question, but if cost is not really a factor:

Could the AWD drivetrain from an Escape be used? or is it not tough enough to withstand serious HP?

I saw where some had said the Escape rear axle might fit and you would get the 3.0l.

Any thoughts? Flames?

'98.5 SVT#5826 of 6535, Silver Frost-As fun to drive as my old MR2 and way more practical! Not as much fun to drive as my Turbo Rx7 was, but it starts every time!
T
Hard-core CEG\'er
Hard-core CEG\'er
T
Originally posted by SVTCJ:
I searched for AWD but found little so, sorry if this sounds like a total newbie question, but if cost is not really a factor:

Could the AWD drivetrain from an Escape be used? or is it not tough enough to withstand serious HP?

I saw where some had said the Escape rear axle might fit and you would get the 3.0l.

Any thoughts? Flames?

From what I have read here;

The jag x type awd system is the one that people are looking at, that and the 4x4 system from one of the limited production mondeo's.

J
Hard-core CEG\'er
Hard-core CEG\'er
J
Originally posted by DemonSVT:
However to be honest I'd just do a simple 3L SVT swap with LSD and then pick a real car to make power with. This platform CAN NOT put any power down so any serious power is really just wasted effort.
Besides it's FWD and no FWD car ever drives the right wheels.

Oh yeah. Better brakes are a good idea and NOT just the fronts!