Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
R
Hard-core CEG\'er
OP Offline
Hard-core CEG\'er
R
So we're installing my 3L in the spring of '04. We had a heck of a time getting the rod shifter linkage off the tranny for removal of the old engine. We spend 3 hours trying to get that stubborn linkage off there. A lot of pulling/pushing on the shifter, trying to use leverage pulling on the shifter to get the shaft to slide out, etc. I admit, it was ugly.

Well after all that, get the car back together, I can shift it, but man, it is NOT precise. I can really move the shifter back and forth by a good inch or so while its IN gear, and to try to get it in the right gear is a guessing game for anyone not used to it. I've been driving it like this for about 18 months now so I have the feel down and can shift it, but it is still a mess and sloppy as hell.

Well I think I found the culprit. Can someone with a rod-shift MTX75 verify that this is NOT normal to have this much movement down there:

quicktime vid

I think that only the middle part pointed to here is supposed to move:

right?

B
Hard-core CEG'er
Hard-core CEG'er
B
not at all, only the very center looks like it is suppose to move

video, sorry it is so dark
video

neutral all the way left

centered in neutral

all the way right in neutral

Last edited by brapple; 09/08/05 10:52 PM.

- 95 Mystique LS - Zetec/5spd - 99 Contour SeVT Sport - Duratec/5spd Official NE-CEG Contour/Mustang Family
R
Hard-core CEG\'er
OP Offline
Hard-core CEG\'er
R
brapple, thanks, you da man!

Now I wonder what it is I need to fix it.

T
I have no life
I have no life
T
Drop the rod "box". I removed mine totally and put some marine grease in there. Tery recommended it since they do dry out. It's a PITA but well worth the trouble. My god my car shifts so sweet now. You would crap. Looks like you might need a lot of new parts though.