Print Thread
Page 10 of 74 1 2 8 9 10 11 12 73 74
#1379949 09/10/05 03:26 AM
H
Scourge of the Master Debaters
Scourge of the Master Debaters
H
Originally posted by Big Jim:
This thread has taken a life of it's own.

I wonder if it will become the longest thread on the CEG forums.

Not by a long shot. The Group Buy thread for the ELGlow gauges lasted exactly two years with 826 posts. Were there any threads larger than that one?

Beer is my Gatorade. Hooray Beer. '98 "Sport" Pacific Green '98 E0 SVT Silver Frost Pictures
#1379950 09/10/05 03:34 AM
C
CEG\'er
CEG\'er
C
i ran redline for 2yrs and it was ok.

D
Hard-core CEG'er
Hard-core CEG'er
D
Originally posted by rkneeshaw3.0:
I'm no expert, but if the lube was the problem causing the build up, I think it woudl be seen in more places than JUST that diff pin.

Someone using their brain I see. Yes it would. The syncros would all be completely shot because without lubrication they would fail first. The oil (or lack there of) is not going to subjectively starve just one spot

Those pictures todras posted show damage from broken spider gears. TYPICAL MTX DIFF FAILURE. Hello sheep. Wake the hell up!

What happens when METAL PIECES constantly grind into the bearings and spindles for a prolonged time??? Oh yeah. Extreme wear happens like in the pictures.

Yes I am being overly sarcastic but the majority of the damn sheep on this board need their head beat in order to get any sense in it.

I ran MTL in my MTX-75 for well over a year (from Jan 01 to Sep 03)
When I tore my MTX apart there was absolutely ZERO FLUID BREAK DOWN & Negligable wear!!!

My bet for this over blown media style sensationalism going completely assinine is that someone added a "transmission fix" type additive or an high pressure LSD additive to the transmission at some point. Those types of additives cause exactly the type of build up that was described.