Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
CEG\'er
OP Offline
CEG\'er
hey all, have any of you with atx's (cd4e) felt a very harsh downshift 2-1 under braking, it happens about 99% of the time and 50% of the time it is really noticeable/harsh. doenst seem as if it is hurting anything. fluid is new and level good. could be throttle hang when i accelarate hard then left off early(before redline) it will wait to upshift 2-3 seconds. could they be related. any info appreciated. i am a ford tech, still kind of if'y on trannys. my tranny guy at my shop would give me a wierd look if i told him this. i know you guys can help a fellow contour driver out.

1998 contour se/sport 2.5l CD4E, Reman trans, also has been out and resealed, new solenoid pack a while back.

thanx in advancea all!

1998 Contour V6 se ATX Black Bassanni w/o resinators, modified intake box, DMD New headlights w/ silverstar 9005's, blue neons inside, metal waterpump, pioneer head, pioneer 5x7 3 ways,2 10" subs, 800w amp, 17x7.5 motegi mr12 p215/45/17
U
Hard-core CEG'er
Hard-core CEG'er
U
I have heard of this harsh downshift, when the tranny is overheating.

Does it do this all the time or only after being driven for awhile?

Answering this will rule the overheating out or in.

Phillip Jackson `98 Mystique LS 262K+ and counting... ATX rebuilt @ 151K "This storm has broken me, my only friend!" RIP Dime
CEG\'er
OP Offline
CEG\'er
yeah it seems more noticeable after it it warmed up. i had a problem when the tranny slipped for about 40 miles on the interstate. that ended up blowing out the pump seal and fluid and smoke all over the highway. got that fixed and its been flushed out 3 times since that 2 years ago. might have damaged the torque coverter and/or pump, overheating! doesnt seem to drive bad or anything i beat it pretty hard and havent had a problem since. a little slower cause my heavier 17" rims and bassani catback with resinators removed dropped some low/mid range torque.