Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
S
CEG\'er
OP Offline
CEG\'er
S
I wanted to get some opinions and thought this would be a good place.
I want to have my own domain and email and wondered what insight you CER'ers could give me.
I will admit I am a NoOB when it come to this arena so if you have any good resources that you can reccomend for me to learn that would be appreciated as well.
Thanks.

| 1999 SVT E1 | silver | 147 of 2760
S
Hard-core CEG'er
Hard-core CEG'er
S
netfirms.com

hands down best prices and service

RamMotorsports Lowest prices on SPEC Clutches and Flywheels
M
Hard-core CEG\'er
Hard-core CEG\'er
M
Are you going to be doing the actual hosting of the site or are you going to be paying somebody else to host it ?

Beaten - 2003 MazdaSpeed Protege 29K <- broken hearted Daily/Weekend Beater - 1990 miata 138K - AutoX every weekend = Adult driven on weekends
B
Hard-core CEG'er
Hard-core CEG'er
B
I use ehostingbiz.com

-- 1999 SVT #220 -- In retrospect, it was all downhill from here. RIP, CEG.
S
CEG\'er
OP Offline
CEG\'er
S
Originally posted by moxnix:
Are you going to be doing the actual hosting of the site or are you going to be paying somebody else to host it ?

That was a hidden quesiton in my question. What would be the best reccomendation? Right now I am strongly leaning to have someone else host.
What advantages would I have by hosting myself?

BMR and Cuervo, I will check those out.

Thanks for the replys.

| 1999 SVT E1 | silver | 147 of 2760
Hard-core CEG'er
Hard-core CEG'er
You can host it yourself, but if you have a dynamic IP address, you're site will go down anytime your IP changes until you can get it updated.
I hosted my own for a while and got sick of dealing with the IP, so I use a company called cyberland-usa.com ...

At $2.95 a month, it is as cheap as you're gonna find hosting. It includes 150mb storage, 3gb/month transfer, and unlimited email addresses. And if you pay annualy, they include the domain name registration...