Next Thread
Print Thread
#716728 08/10/03 02:38 PM
I
CEG\'er
OP Offline
CEG\'er
I
are cross drilled rotors worth it am going to need breaks very soon just wanted to know if crossdrilled rotors are any good or to much trobble.

98.5 SVT RIP 92 240sx SE [image]http://home.comcast.net/~iansmith321/wsb/media/384458/site1054_t.jpg[/image]
#716729 08/10/03 04:25 PM
R
"Absolut Rara."
"Absolut Rara."
R
Cross-drilled rotors, in any typical street application, do nothing for performance and are for looks only. In fact they offer increased susceptibility to cracking over time.

Do a search for cross drilled rotors in this forum.

Balance is the Key. rarasvt@comcast.net
#716730 08/10/03 08:46 PM
F
CEG\'er
CEG\'er
F
Although I have no experience with actually using cross drilled rotors, adding to the comments posted above, I would assume that the holes and such on the surface of the rotor would eat away more at the brake pads than your standard smooth rotor. Seriously, for normal driving conditions standard rotors are perfectly fine. Most street drivers get cross drilled rotors for the look.

I can also tell you that more than likely most shops that do rotor resurfacing will not turn the rotors down for you either if they warp or wear. Our brake lathe at the shop used two blades (one for each side) that were shaped like triangles. I never turned any cross drilled rotors, but I could almost imagine what would happen to the tips when it hit one of those holes. You'd more than likely get the lathe to lock up and blow a breaker. So most machine shops with those types of lathes probably won't touch them. Just something to think about.

#716731 08/10/03 09:49 PM
A
New CEG\'er
New CEG\'er
A