Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
#713837 08/07/03 04:17 PM
L
Webmaster
Webmaster
L
Yes, the difference is noticeable, especially in the lower gears.

I had an ASP UDP on for a little over 3 years, but swapped it out for a DMD. I noticed the loss of power going to the DMD. It was worth it, though, because the harshness of the vibrations at higher RPM was driving me nuts. Now it is sooooo smoooooth.

I haven't heard of a specific failure related to a UDP, and I have not had any problems related to the use of mine after 50K miles. I am not an expert on this, but my impression from everything I've read is that the DMD was developed mainly for NVH (Noise Vibration Harshness) reasons and possibly because of destructive crank harmonics.

It's your choice, now that you are aware of the risks of possibly destroying your engine.

-Lance

Lance Kinley CEG Webmaster 95 SE, "Cassandra" 10 years!
#713838 08/07/03 04:21 PM
B
New CEG\'er
New CEG\'er
B
UR pulleys on my ole' Sentra SE-R made a noticeable difference - improvements throughout the rev range. I am about to install the ShoShop crank pulley on my Taurus to try for better low-end. (It doesn't do away with the stock harmonic balancer, so shouldn't have much of an effect on crank harmonics.) My SVT-C is stock, but I'll probably slap on the pulleys, before long. (Those stock pulleys need a good slapping, every once in awhile.)

1999 Grand Prix GTP, with mods. Former Ride: 1998 E1 CSVT, Silverfrost Wrecked 21 Dec 03. May she rest in peace.
#713839 08/07/03 04:23 PM
C
New CEG\'er
OP Offline
New CEG\'er
C
finnally to good responses and not all this bulshit aruging if you want to help someone help don't try to hurt!!

#713840 08/07/03 10:09 PM
D
Hard-core CEG\'er
Hard-core CEG\'er
D
Originally posted by cawong11: