Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#704423 07/27/03 08:14 PM
CEG\'er
OP Offline
CEG\'er
Ok here is the story. Myself and two friends are driving down the street at 130 AM on July 27th. We arent driving very fast (50 in a 45) and we drive about 3-4 miles down a main road (warwick) in the city which I live (Newport News VA). We get to a stop light and a cop pulls in front of us and tells us to turn our cars off, then he gets all of our licenses and registrations while telling us that we were racing. I can honestly say that we werent even close to racing, we werent even in a hurry, ok we were speeding a little bit but thats not what he wrote us a ticket for. He wrote us a ticket for reckless driving "racing" (46.2-865). He didnt even bother to talk to us before he wrote us tickets. I have a court date the 6th of August to defend myself. And my friends have other court dates. I have been driving for 2 years and 2 months with a PERFECT driving record. And my other friends have similar records. He didnt even get our speed on radar. My question is first, should we get a lawyer? Second, do I have a chance to defend myself against this accusation. And third, I have USAA insurance and if I get probation or get to take a driving class will that make my insurance go up? Any comments or suggestions will be great!

#704424 07/27/03 08:39 PM
P
Veteran CEG\'er
Veteran CEG\'er
P
It is the officers word against yours. Get the lawyer.

Yes, if you are "convicted" of racing (6pts) your insurance WILL go up a pretty hefty amount. Six points off your license is half of what you have in the first place. Wreckless driving doesn't make it look any better. Expect a substantial increase per month on your premium. It will not take effect immediately, but when you renew, it will show up then. Sorry to break the news.