Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#607513 04/18/03 08:00 PM
X
New CEG\'er
OP Offline
New CEG\'er
X
Hey, im going to be painting my car starting in like two weeks when school lets out. I think im going to try in my garage also, and i have some HEPA filters that i can run at full blast to try and get the dust out while i am masking off everything. Im going to go from midnight red (its old color) to a black so if i screw up and the midnight red shows through a little it wont look too bad because midnight red is so dark. I'll get an HVLP spray gun, and im planning on spraying acrylic enamel base, then an acrlyc enamel clear, both from http://www.paintforcars.com because thats the cheapest, i could find. I've never done any sort of car paint before so if anyone has any ideas that could help me out I would appreciate it a lot.

PS i have a buddy who's good with cars who wants to take off all the bumpers and quarter panels and everything we can to paint them. Is this a good idea?

1995 Mercury Mystique GS V6 MTX Pioneer 6x8s in front, Pioneer 10's in back 1200 watts powering it all KKM intake SVT Exhaust Swapped out resonator for Glasspack Mobil 1 Brand New!! Giant scratch on front bumper and right side!! Yes!!!
#607514 04/18/03 08:05 PM
Hard-core CEG\'er
Hard-core CEG\'er
Originally posted by XTheTigerX:

PS i have a buddy who's good with cars who wants to take off all the bumpers and quarter panels and everything we can to paint them. Is this a good idea?

that is a good idea

1999 SVT black And a Blond Haired Blue eyes girlfriend. How can it get any better?
#607515 04/19/03 12:00 AM
J
CEG\'er
CEG\'er
J
Bumpers yes, fenders no, leave them on. You will never match the orange peel if you do them seperate. The fender will not look like it belongs next to the door. BTW, black is the WORST color for showing dings, and any body waviness.

Jim

Originally posted by XTheTigerX: