Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#491697 12/01/02 06:46 AM
S
New CEG\'er
OP Offline
New CEG\'er
S
Aight, this is just a post of my progress and will have pics soon. I do need some help though. I have a 99 mystique GS. I just removed the trim piece around the cd player/ac knob area. My goal. To paint the trim piece blue and make it to where the ac knobs and lettering glow blue instead of the green. On the heat part it is already red and blue so I am good. I have everything out and it was a biatch to do. I am a noob. But I finally got the black piece off itself and was wondering how i get the green paint like stuff off and how to replace it with blue. I hurt boiling them and then masking the black plastic piece and then a thin coat of blue spray paint? Is this correct or is it different.(that process was off j-body.org for a cavy.) Some pointers pls and I also would like to know what is the best wet sand paper grit to use to sand the trim piece and how to I paint it. sand, paint, prime ect.. what order exactly. Thx alot ceg'r's.

L
CEG road warrior
CEG road warrior
L
Number one rule is take your time and most importantly have some fun.

Hector 2003 Rally Red Mitsubishi Evolution VIII 257HP/259TQ 2005 Lapis Blue Mazda 6s RET: 00 Cabernet Red Ford Contour Zetec ATX SUPERCHARGED 160HP/141TQ
C
Addicted CEG\'er
Addicted CEG\'er
C
This is how I did mine...
Lightly sand, then prime, paint about 3-4 coats of whatever color you will use. Then a couple coats of clear.

-Ken V. 1998.5 SE Praire Tan Zetec ATX psycho_bass@hotmail.com Roush springs Roush rear sway bar BAT struts 17" Millie Miglia HT3 and a ton of subtle asthetic mods
S
New CEG\'er
OP Offline
New CEG\'er
S
Aight, how about the a/c knob thing...should i boil that or use a blow dryer type thing to change its glow color if u see what I am trying to say?

S
New CEG\'er
OP Offline
New CEG\'er
S