Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#252127 08/02/02 08:21 PM
C
OP Offline
C
Has anyone bled the breaks? A service guy told me that I need to change the break fluid. I was going to try and do it myself. Would the Chilton Service Manual and I (and another guy) be able to do it in a couple hours? I have never done it before but want to/need to do it.

Any suggestions? Should I have it professionally done? :?

Thanks!

#252128 08/03/02 03:53 AM
B
B
You may find this recent string interesting. It may answer your questions.

http://www.contour.org/forums/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=25;t=000726

Jim Johnson
98 SVT
#252129 08/05/02 05:06 PM
A
A
Quote:
Would the Chilton Service Manual and I (and another guy) be able to do it in a couple hours
You should be able to do the clutch and all four wheels in less than an hour (even as a beginner). With two people who have done it before you can do it in 15 minutes.

'99 Black SVT
Join the SVTOA
Safe Harbour Statement:
Anything said above must be interpreted against the background that nothing whatever might occur in the future.
#252130 08/06/02 12:33 AM
P
P
I recently bled/flushed my brakes... it took a few hours, but only because I had no assistant to pump the pedal. Also I apparently got air in it when almost done and had to do part of it over. And I did it in two steps: flush as well as I could, then drive around and brake hard to pump out any fluid inside the ABS system, then bleed some more. This was to eliminate any traces of the old lower-temperature fluid. I used Valvoline SynPower, which is almost as clear as water and advertises a boiling temperature of 502 degrees.

My hints:
Don't unscrew the front bleeders more than the minimum amount, the screws leak too much when opened even one full turn. The back ones (if you have drums) are better.

Don't buy a commercial "brake bleeding kit". I got one and ended up throwing it away, except for the main length of clear hose, within ten minutes.