Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
J
Hard-core CEG\'er
OP Offline
Hard-core CEG\'er
J
This isn't about the '05 and newer ones, but the mid-90s on. I had heard once that Mustangs were unusually bad or hazardous in rear-end crash situations because the fuel tank was located more vulnerably than in most cars. Sort of a Pinto situation, I suppose. I never found out for sure if that was hype, or the beer talking, or just anti-Stang and/or anti-Ford propaganda. Does anyone have any reasoned and educated input?

"Think of it, if you like, as a librarian with a G-string under the tweed." Clarkson on the Mondeo.
T
TGO Offline
Hard-core CEG'er
Hard-core CEG'er
T
eh...the gas tank is pretty visible from behind the car...but i'm no engineer.

1999 Silver Frost SVT #609 of 2760 Quaife, lightened SVT Flywheel, SPEC stage II clutch, removed resonator, k&n drop in - various other goodies too.
B
Hard-core CEG\'er
Hard-core CEG\'er
B
So what's up with Fords and gas tanks?

Pinto
Crown Vic
Mustang

Goin' Round Traffic Circles @ 50Km/h!!! \m/ -- 1998 E0 SVT #2119 of 6535 \m/ -- 2003 Sentra SE-R Spec V
N
Veteran CEG\'er
Veteran CEG\'er
N
I have also heard this, but not confirmed by an expert

Best mobile phone resource site, especially Sony Ericsson 1996 Buick Riviera Gutted airbox K&N Air filter Modded boost bypass valve
R
"Absolut Rara."
"Absolut Rara."
R
Originally posted by Big Daddy Kane:

Pinto
Crown Vic
Mustang

Ignorance of the people who talk about it basically.

1. Pinto was a real problem, there was a piece of structure that would pierce the fuel tank in a rear end collision. It was obviously fixed in a recall.