Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
OP Offline
Hello everyone. Im new to the SVT Contour family as I picked up a 98 black 'tour today for my new DD. Ive been a SVT fan forever though, and ive had my 95 Cobra for 5 years now. Anyways, i love the SVTC, she looks and drives great for 100K miles, and it seems the previous owner(s) took good care of her. I have a few little issues with it though.

1. The hanging throttle (which is covered in the FAQ)
2. The E-brake light stays on
- This wasnt on till i got her home, cleaned her up and now its constantly on. I think it might be a loose wire or connection or something. Anyone have the same issue or had it in the past?

3. By far the most worrysome/agrivating. When i hold the clutch in for too long (maybe 5-10 seconds) without engaging a gear, the pedal gets real light and takes a few seconds to get back off the floor and get its feeling back. Its kinda hard to explain. When its in this limpy state, i cant get the tranny to go in any gear, and if it is in gear while holding it in, i cant get it back out of that gear. I basically just hold the brake and the car eventually stalls itself out. It happened in reverse and it scared me because the car just wanted to take off (since it was already in gear) and i held the brake till it stalled. IS there something that is wrong with the hydraulic clutch pedal or the tranny/clutch itself? Is there some sort of adjustment that i can do to the pedal? If i can fix this problem, the car would be 100%. Any help or advice would be much appriciated!

PS> car is #2444 of 6535 born on July 15, 1997
(previous owner had this written on a paper in the owners guide)

1998 SVT Contour Black/Midnight Leather Stock @ 100K miles 1995 SVT Cobra Rio Red/Saddle Leather too many mods to list
T
Addicted CEG\'er
Addicted CEG\'er
T
Welcome . Check the brake fluid level for the brake light issue.

Bleed the clutch for the clutch issue.