Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
R
Hard-core CEG'er
Online Content
Hard-core CEG'er
R
Looks beautiful! My parents' house is comprised of almost entirely hardwood floor (all except kitchen and bathroom), and my mom refinished much of it herself when I was in grade school. It's a night and day difference, particularly if you see different portions of the same floor done at different times (we had to stagger it since the living room and hallway have no separation).

S
Hard-core CEG'er
Hard-core CEG'er
S
Looks good.
I'm a contractor and mainly do custom hardwood floors. You have to watch your floor guys to make sure they don't use cheap finish, especially when it's a polyurethane. Bona and Duraseal make good polyurethane finishes. Just about ANY other polyurethane is crap, especially any home depot products.

Since you have older 3/8" or maybe 1/2" flooring, and nails are starting to show through... you probably should have gone with a tougher finish. If it's too thin to sand again, you're FUBAR if you scratch, dent or crease them.
An acid based finish like Glitza or a moisture cured urethane would have been a better choice as they are far tougher finishes.

Though, if your floors are the newer 3/4" thick or they've still got a bit of their overall thickness left after sanding, Bona's "traffic" finish is by far the best out there or another waterbased finish that is fairly close is called Streetshoe.

$3 a foot is pretty good, I only cut people a break like that when either business is slow or the job is pretty large. The median price for sand and refinish is about $3.50 a SQ FT, but from a medium color of stain and darker the price goes up.

2005 Ford F150 SuperCab FX4 1964 Chevrolet Impala SS 1998 CSVT: 354HP/328TQ @ 10 psi, now gone
S
CEG\'er
CEG\'er
S
Looks good Viss. You're floors look similiar to some of mine but maybe that's cause we live in the same town. Are you going to put some shoe mold down?

"Why do we drive on parkways and park on driveways?"
V