Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
R
rearden Offline OP
CEG\'er
OP Offline
CEG\'er
R
I sure felt out of touch with the computing world the other day..

My 5 year old Philips CRT monitor bit the dust, so I went shopping for a replacement. Now I know LCD monitors are very popular, but I had no idea they've pretty much completely replaced CRT screens. Every place I went had nothing but LCD monitors, and one or two el cheapo CRT models. They're like VHS tapes now! Since when did that happen?! I need to do a better job of keeping up with this stuff considering I'm a programmer for a living.

Anyway, I ended up getting a 17" LCD Samsung. The brightness hurt my eyes for a while, but now I find it much more pleasant to use for long periods of time because it's so nice and clear. Definitely a worthwhile upgrade.

'99 Contour Sport V6 MTX
A
b0x @dm1n
b0x @dm1n
A
When LCD refresh rates became as good as CRT's which just happened in the last few months. So the higher latency LCD's are now dirt cheap.

-Andy

Andy W. The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
C
CEG\'er
CEG\'er
C
My only problem is that I run dual monitors, and when I plugged in an LCD monitor, the picture quality couldn't hold a candle to my CRT. I'm sure it'd be better if I used a DVI connection instead of the standard VGA connection, but I've yet to find find a reasonably priced video card with dual DVI ports.

R
rearden Offline OP
CEG\'er
OP Offline
CEG\'er
R
Originally posted by Cartman Reincarnated:
My only problem is that I run dual monitors, and when I plugged in an LCD monitor, the picture quality couldn't hold a candle to my CRT.