Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
L
CEG\'er
OP Offline
CEG\'er
L
i installed SS brake lines on my '98 tour svt the other day, and replaced my passenger side caliper and pads with a brand new one (only the front passenger side) well now the car pulls madly to the right.. not just a little bit, like it pulls hard to the right. (and yes we bled the system correctly) ive driven like this for nearly 300 miles now and have beat the [censored] out of the brakes as much as i could, so i don't see how the pad could still be touching the rotor when the brakes aren't engaged (which i guess sometimes happens with brand new not worn in pads)

my alignment was perfect before we did the lines/caliper install, so if anyone knows what could be wrong please let me know, thanks.

L
CEG\'er
CEG\'er
L
I'm not a brake expert but I think that if your car has a mechanical brake proportioning valve, the problem could be caused by a malfunction there.

99 csvt amazon green/tan pre-98 sail panels pioneer sound 72K mi
P
CEG\'er
CEG\'er
P
IIRC, proportioning valves are only for front-rear brake proportioning, not side-to-side (and are, strictly speaking "hydraulic" parts, not "mechanical"). In general, all braking systems are designed so that each side of an axle gets the same braking force; front-to-rear braking depends on other factors. I doubt the proportioning valve would cause this symptom.

Obvious things: Bleed it again (thought it sounds like you've covered this). Make sure all slide pin surfaces have the correct high-temp grease (and NO grease is anywhere near a pad surface). Make sure the pads are able to move smoothly where they're supposed to within the caliper.

Hmmm - It pulls to the right when *not* braking, or *only* when braking?

If only while braking,your new caliper is working really well - and the other one might not be. Take a closer look; it might need replacement as well.