Print Thread
#1230270 03/30/05 01:17 PM
E
egrau Offline OP
CEG\'er
OP Offline
CEG\'er
E
Ford dealership has recently told me I have to replace the speed sensor and 3 catalytic convertors (clogged)for $2500. I have a 98 SVT with 90,000 miles (emissions warranty gone).
Well I dont have that kind of $$$ right now and I need a temporary fix until I can save up to replace. So after some research, I think gutting the precats is the best way to go. I havent really seen any info on gutting the main cat (as it is clogged also).
Is gutting the main cat possible?, bad for the car?
Is gutting the cats myself hard? (i have no experience working with exhaust systems and very little working on cars in general)

thanks for any help, info
-eric

98 SVT Stock for now
#1230271 03/30/05 02:45 PM
F
CEG\'er
CEG\'er
F
First off, why are they saying you need all of that?? What did you take it in for? I'd bet if you still had the warranty they wouldn't be changing all of that! Chances are it's just O2 sensors, but can't say with out more details.

Parting out 95-97 Contours/Mystiques. Contact me directly at ALFIGOLS@yahoo.com if you're looking for a particular part.
#1230272 03/30/05 02:46 PM
T
Hard-core CEG'er
Hard-core CEG'er
T
The precats are $$$ because they're integrated into the exhaust manifolds. Gutting is a good route, but you've gotta be patient so you don't kick any material up into your engine - or do it off the car to be safe. MIL eliminators must be purchased & instlled by YOU to get rid of the CEL. Not difficult, search for a good source on these boards & the net. Another choice is to purchase modded manifolds & have them bolted on. You can get them cheap, then do it yourself if you're mechanically inclined, or hire it done for a couple hundred. Again, MIL eliminators by U will be needed.