Car:
1995 Contour LX
V6 ATX
153k KM

Primary issue:

- passenger cabin began to smell of unburned gas while driving this evening
- no apparent performance issues while driving
- car drips gas
- dripping stops after the car has been turned off for roughly 20 mins -- maybe less than that
- gas drips from car on the passenger side behind the front wheel along side an exhaust pipe, possibly next to the catalytic converter (unsure as I'm a newbie)

I'm unable to look directly under the car, but I was able to reach under and feel where the gas was dropping from the car (which may not be the source of the leak). I'm unable to identify the area, but I believe it's next to the catalytic converter towards the passenger side.

I reached into this area with my hand and felt wet fabric of some sort doused in gas and surrounded loosely by thin metal, perhaps pan-like. It felt as if there was some loose/corroded metal, but I was unable to pull out any via gentle tugging.

As the leak appears to have stopped, I'm going to leave it for the night and take it into a garage tomorrow.

I'm hoping somebody can provide some ideas/thoughts on the issue before I bring it in tomorrow.

Other Issue:
- CEL comes on intermittently when driving 120+ km/h, always turns off before stopping
- CEL issue doesn't occur all the time, more likely to occur when the roads are wet
- CEL issue has occurred since I started driving this car in November. Ford Fastlane didn't seem concerned so it has gone unchecked

Thanks.

#1157038 01/15/05 01:26 AM
T
CEG\'er
CEG\'er
T
Could be coming from your exhaust Y pipe, I had mine off and it was soaked with a fuel/oil mixture. I had EGR related problems with mine.

#1157039 01/15/05 05:58 AM
M
Hard-core CEG\'er
Hard-core CEG\'er
M
Have a garage check your fuel line asap. If unburned gas drips on your exhaust line, it could start a fire. Hot pipe and combustable liquid do not mix well.

[color:"green"]-Matt R

'99 Tropic Green LX, Zetec, ATX
#1157040 01/15/05 06:21 AM
R