Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
F
New CEG\'er
OP Offline
New CEG\'er
F
Hi. I'm still a newbie, but have checked the FAQs and searched the archives about this and still have questions, so I hope this is an okay post! I picked the general maintenance forum because my questions involve three different systems.

My '95 Contour SE, MTX has never had the fluids flushed or changed (just checked for level) in the brakes, manual transmission, and power steering. It's at 60K and everything is running fine. From what I've read here, it's high time these fluids be changed... but it's not as clearcut if and how the systems should be flushed.

The shop I go to *highly* recommends flushing each of the systems using their machines (naturally); in fact the service manager's justifications did sound good. I don't want to do the brakes at home, so am having those done there for sure.

But is there any danger of to the MTX and PS systems (e.g., to rubber seals and rings) in having them flushed by machine for the first time at 60K (steering and MTX operate well now, without leakage). If it's safe, is that route advantageous over the by-hand methods listed in our CEG FAQs (fairly straightforward and much cheaper!)?

I've gotten some great guidance from CEGers on what types of fluids to use. For the brake fluid I was planning on using Valvoline Synpower, but the shop service manager said he'd need to do a quick compatability test first. Given he needs to do a test, which my husband suggests might not reveal potential for longer-term damage, might it be safer to just go with new, regular Ford DOT III? For the MTX I was going to use the Chrysler Spec ATF+3, and for the power steering Mobil 1 ATF. I understand these meet the Mercon specs, but any danger/compatability issues in changing over to these now? Like I said, it all seems to be working fine and I don't mind the usual slightly-chunky shifting...