Contour Enthusiasts Group Archives
Posted By: SVTcontourSVT Bypassing password question - 04/30/06 07:44 PM
When I graduated from my school they offer to sell the laptop you used while attending. I bought it back but have a question. It is set up as a ctrl,atl,dlt and then you type in your password. I want to run it like a regular personal laptop and not still on my school program. I no longer know my password to login which was dumb of me....I wrote it down and lost the slip.... My question is is there anyway I can bypass the password without knowing my password? Is buying a new hard drive my only option? If I need to clarify anything let me know.....Thanks for any help. -Stu
Posted By: KerryKool Re: Bypassing password question - 04/30/06 08:03 PM
If the password is hardwired into the system, there may be a way to bypass it.

If its a pesky program, its much more difficult without buying a new hard drive.

If it is a windows operating system with the hardwire password. You can go into the configuration setup when you start your computer, by pressing the "Delete" key or whatever it says to push at the first screen. From there, you should find a password protection menu.

I don't know if you need the password for that also, but its worth a shot.
Posted By: chemguru_dup1 Re: Bypassing password question - 04/30/06 08:09 PM
There are several boot cd isos around that will allow you to edit/delete the system user passwords for NT/2000/XP. Google : windows password iso boot.

--JamesT
Posted By: Pete D_dup1 Re: Bypassing password question - 04/30/06 08:13 PM
Also depends on the type of authentication, if it's a network password that adds some complexity as well.
Posted By: Guitarman19853 Re: Bypassing password question - 04/30/06 08:20 PM
do not buy a new hard drive!! if anything, i'd say buy a copy of win XP pro and install it. or, if your system came with the windows disk, re-install it.
Posted By: SVTcontourSVT Re: Bypassing password question - 04/30/06 08:26 PM