Contour Enthusiasts Group Archives
Posted By: RawBurt Cheap brakes - 01/31/06 03:27 PM
Has anyone ever bought the cheapest pads and rotors from a typical auto parts store... I mean like 40 bucks for a pair of rotors and about the same for pads... I dont know much about brakes, so uhhhhhh, is this a major "no-no?"

Sorry for the somewhat dumb and no0bie question...
Posted By: todras_dup1 Re: Cheap brakes - 01/31/06 04:42 PM
If I had a total beater worth squat that's what I would use.
Posted By: RawBurt Re: Cheap brakes - 01/31/06 04:50 PM
I was afraid of that... Looks like I'll be going aussie...
Posted By: todras_dup1 Re: Cheap brakes - 01/31/06 05:28 PM
If you are talking about using these parts on an SVT Contour I'll gladly punch you in the baby maker.
Posted By: Auto-X Fil Re: Cheap brakes - 01/31/06 05:46 PM
The Autozone performance friction Z (I think that's the name) pads are a lifetime warranty pad that ou can use up and replace for free. I have no personal experience with them, but I've read a lot of good things. If you want more information, let me know and I'll dig it up. If you plan on using up your pads, it might not be a bad deal.
Posted By: RTStabler51_dup1 Re: Cheap brakes - 01/31/06 06:47 PM
Originally posted by Auto-X Fil:
The Autozone performance friction Z (I think that's the name) pads are a lifetime warranty pad that ou can use up and replace for free.

Actually, thats a misconception, even though the majority of the autoparts stores do it for customer satisfaction reasons (which I never did). The warranty, truly, only covers manufacturer defects, etc. Since brake pads are meant to wear out, the warranty does not cover this. For some reason, that amazes some people...
Posted By: Stazi Re: Cheap brakes - 01/31/06 06:54 PM
Exactly. Moron's think they are buying a consumable part (like these "lifetime" brakes) and think that they will never have to buy them again.
Posted By: todras_dup1 Re: Cheap brakes - 01/31/06 06:54 PM