Contour Enthusiasts Group Archives
Posted By: Ike_dup1 Optimizing the TB - 03/31/06 02:09 PM
Does anybody live near the St. Louis, MO area that knows how to optimize a TB? This is the last modification I need to do before purchasing the "chip."

I am willing to drive to the location, and pay the person $80 for their time and effort.

This is VERY important to me, and any volunteers would be GREATLY appreciated!
Posted By: Y2KSVT Re: Optimizing the TB - 03/31/06 02:15 PM
$80 will get you a nice Craftsman dremel, some countersunk screws, and you'll still have money leftover. And this way, you get a dremel out of it, and some experience.

Mark
Posted By: Ike_dup1 Re: Optimizing the TB - 03/31/06 02:28 PM
I'm not taking the chance of ruining my car by having a screw back itself out and shoot down my intake manifold (yes, I've heard of this happening before).

I've already stated that I'm not a mechanic, and most major processes I've tried, have ended in a dissaster.

About the only things I concern myself with are:

changing the oil, changing headlights/blinkers, and cleaning the UIM and TB.

My own pops (who has worked on many a car in his day) won't even touch the concept of boring out the TB.

The offer is out there, and I wouldn't have put it out there if I could do it myself. After watching someone ELSE do it I MIGHT be able to attempt this. But I'm no machinist, and I wouldn't be crazy enough to pretend I am.

Your advice IS correct Mark, doing this myself would be the BEST idea. I just can't afford for something to go wrong.

These kinds of things are better left to the professionals.
Posted By: Mod-deth Re: Optimizing the TB - 03/31/06 02:39 PM
Originally posted by Ike:

My own pops (who has worked on many a car in his day) won't even touch the concept of boring out the TB.