• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

Need Advice on Buying

Lenny

Be Gentle I'm New Here
I've found a ford contour to purchase but I'm new to this type of car. I'm just wondering if 210k kms is a lot for this car and if I'm going to need to do a lot of repairs on it. I know it's kind of a tough question cause it depends on the car's condition, past drivers and how much work has been done but to keep it simple: in general would a 1998 contour with that amount of kms last at least a year? How long do these cars usually last km wise/ what's the average age they give in? What needs to be repaired frequently and what are typical issues they have? I just don't want to purchase a money pit lol, I know that any car will require work and I'm willing to put it in if I get approx another 100km. Thank you in advance to anyone that takes the time to answer, figured a countour enthusiast website would be a good place to start. It gives me comfort knowing there's a website like this where I can find advice/parts for it! Also what's the most kms/miles you have seen a contour have if treated right? I've heard toyotta corollas have been known to last upwards of 700kms

Hey,
1st off is the engine in the car a 4cyl or V6, and what transmission a automatic or manual.

2nd does the car come with service records?, for it to reach 210K km it had to be maintained fairly well

3rd what's the rust situation, if it's a typical rust belt car, walk away.

4th a Contour is NOT a Corolla, never will be, Toyota's motor are like Volvo's they last forever.

Last edited:
1st q: v6 and manual