• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

    You can register to join the community.
  • We migrated to Xenforo on 11/11/21. We are working to fix an issue with old VBulletin links.
    If you are experiencing a problem, please post in the feedback thread or the Contact Us form.

Car Won't start after I installed a CAI

tycontour0514

CEG'er
Joined
Apr 15, 2008
Messages
79
Location
Philadelphia
Okay I installed a nautilus CAI today and after i got it installed i went to start my car it started and was on for 5 sedconds and shut off. and now it doesn't start. everything is hooked up to my knowledge. all i messed with was the intake system. NEED HELP ANY SUGGESTIONS WILL BE VERY HELPFUL THANKS
 

tycontour0514

CEG'er
Joined
Apr 15, 2008
Messages
79
Location
Philadelphia
i am trying to start it and it turns over like its not the battery. it juss won;t start the motor on. How do you reset it . just taking the negative off the battery for five minutes?
 

Ray

Addicted CEG'er
Joined
Jul 10, 2001
Messages
5,927
Location
Humble
Won't START the motor, or starts but won't stay running?

I'd check the elbow shaped IAC hose on the firewall side, even with the MAF/TB if that is the case.
 

BAD SVT

Addicted CEG'er
Joined
Dec 19, 2005
Messages
6,521
Location
Formerly Las Vegas, now Dallas TX
Won't START the motor, or starts but won't stay running?

I'd check the elbow shaped IAC hose on the firewall side, even with the MAF/TB if that is the case.

even with an unplugged maf, the car should still start. keep checking. something else is unplugged. i believe there is a sensor by the TB. check that.
 

tycontour0514

CEG'er
Joined
Apr 15, 2008
Messages
79
Location
Philadelphia
the motor won't start. the first time i did start it after i installed it it started for 5seconds now it won't start but you can hear it turning over so it ain;t the battery
 

tycontour0514

CEG'er
Joined
Apr 15, 2008
Messages
79
Location
Philadelphia
okay i know where the TB sensor is now. so im good i am goin to have to check that when i get home from school. Thanks for your help guys. and Any othere suggestions is appericiated too.
 

Ray

Addicted CEG'er
Joined
Jul 10, 2001
Messages
5,927
Location
Humble
even with an unplugged maf, the car should still start. keep checking. something else is unplugged. i believe there is a sensor by the TB. check that.

I didn't mention an unplugged MAF.

I mentioned a disconnected IAC hose. This will not allow the car to run when you start it (unless, perhaps, you hold the gas down the entire time its running)

Not starting at ALL, however, I would imagine is probably something like the coilpack connector being forgotten, etc.
 

tycontour0514

CEG'er
Joined
Apr 15, 2008
Messages
79
Location
Philadelphia
okay. the IAC hose. where is that located it that one of the hoses that connect to the intake. if so if it is disconnected. when i put it back on do i have to reset the computer or will it juss start?
 

Ray

Addicted CEG'er
Joined
Jul 10, 2001
Messages
5,927
Location
Humble
I already mentioned where it is...

If you want help, you're gonna have to try to help yourself, too.

It is an elbow shaped hose, near the firewall, about even with the TB. it plugs in to the IAC.

If you don't know where something is, or what something you are looking for even is, you could always search.

There is a UIM/LIM rebuild how-to in the duratec maintenance forum under the read-first thread. It outlines different parts and places.. maybe you can locate the IAC, and the hose in some of those pictures, etc.
 

hourang

CEG'er
Joined
Sep 25, 2008
Messages
260
Location
South Lyon, MI
Check the IAC plug and hose.
IAC.jpg
 
Top