• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

Some Code Help, Please

fdm813

New CEG'er
I have a 1998 SVT, 110000 miles. Bought it 2 years ago. Been running fine until the other day. Started shuttering on acceleration. Engine light has been on since I bought the car. I was told by previous owner that it was on because he had the resonator removed. The car ran great so I didn't doubt him. I took the car to Advance Store for a readout of the codes and got the results. The following is what I found out: P0401 EGR Flow Insufficient
P0402 EGR Flow Excessive
P0420 Catalyst Efficiency Below Threshold Bank 1
P1131 Manufacturer Control Fuel Air Metering
P1151 Manufacturer Control Fuel Air Metering
I am no mechanic. Just wondering about how much is this going to cost me. Or can a dummie get through it with some tips from you guys.

Thanks.
Frank

" Engine light has been on since I bought the car."
Reset by removing Fuse 4 and 11 in Power Distribution Box (next to the battery) for 3 or 4 minutes and then reinstall.

Then check for missing or broken hose causing those codes. If you find the hoses broken or came out in DPFE or EGR valve, or big hole in Y pipe or exhaust manifolds, get those fixed. Then see what codes appear again and post the new codes.

With the exception of the Y-pipe or exhaust manifold holes, all those should be easily done by yourself (free is a good price).

I could advise you to change individual items for each of the codes posted by you today but I doubt they are all broken. I suspect one of those items above are missing or has a big hole.

Edit. Good info in Autozone link.
http://www.autozone.com/servlet/UiB..._us/0900823d/80/1b/ca/1e/0900823d801bca1e.jsp

Your codes indicate at least three separate faults. Your drivability symptom adds a fourth.