• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

Need some advice for svt racecar

svtdirtracer

New CEG'er
So, 2000 SVTC #1062 is moving on to a more fulfilling life as a racecar. She will be my 2010 dirt car. I'm hoping to get some input from you guys on performance and reliability of the 2.5 in the higher RPM's. Some things I plan to do to the car:

1. DMD
2. hack exhaust off at the y pipe (maybe MSDS?)
3. Raise rev limiter (anyway to do this without an XCAL or similar?)
4. best way to keep oil flowing?
5. Likely do a fuel cell, recommendations on pump? Will likely run 104 race gas

I'm new to the Duratec and have done alot of reading but would like your first hand experience input.

The rules:
Engine- must be available for model and year of car (sorry, no 3L swaps)
Suspension- must remain stock but can be reinforced (car will be caged, 6pt with rear drops that go into trunk.
Exhaust, must exit past driver

Pics of what I'm starting with:
3kb3o53p2ZZZZZZZZZ95q0f9dd00035d71cca.jpg

More pics
http://s730.photobucket.com/albums/ww308/fsstnotch/SVT dirt racer/

Let me know what you guys think, how would YOU do it?

-Put a ported 3L in it with your stock intakes and don't tell anyone you changed the motor.

-accusump oil accumulator (Euro Tour has one for sale)

:shrug:

Yep, that little bit of damage and shes totalled. Guy in a van ran a red light. Insurance estimated $4,000 to repair to replace the whole front clip and the drivers door. Most of which had nothing but paint flaws and very minor dings.

Accusump sounds good! The 3L will be an idea if/when the 2.5 bites the dust.

+1 for the Accusump.

I can see no need for 104 unless you alter the tuning. 93 pump should be more than sufficient.

Strut tower braces, maybe subframe connectors.

Fuel pump from Focus SVT. (if your fuel system is returnless)

I love secretly breaking rules....