• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

Short Shifter round 2

svt tourin

CEG'er
So my ebay short shifter broke after months of use (go figure) So now my car is stuck in reverse because that little ball snapped at the bottom. I purchased a B&M short shifter off of ceg and should be expecting it soon. My question is that when I had my ebay shifter it would sometimes grind in second. Is there anything I could look for while I have the shifter out to make sure this doesnt happen again. I am not an expert and dont know too much so any SPECIFIC advice would help greatly. I apreciate any advice. THANKS!

These cars seem to grind into 2nd sometimes even with the stock shifter so I doubt it was your short throw doing it. You could always check the shifter cable ends when you're putting the new shifter in for any obvious problems. I bet you're wishing you had welded the ball end to the shaft right about now.

it could be the syncrhros but it could be something else. there was a thread in the transaxle section talking all about the grind in 2nd.

It could be old worn out fluid as well. Whens the last time you threw some Royal Purple in there?

It seemed like the grinding started after the short shifter install but it might have happened a couple of times before that. I dunno if its the synchros because no matter how slow, fast, or carefull I shift it seems to still do it randomly. Could it have been from that ball being loose before it broke? Ill have to check the fluid I dont remember if we changed it when I had the spark plugs replaced or not. Ill have to check.