• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

FSVT rear brake convert question

CLASSVT

Veteran CEG'er
Just got the the FSVT rear conversion done, and I've read that there is some disagreement as to whether rotors and pads need ground down for fitment, or just the bracket. I guess that part is done already, so not as important. But the question I have is whether you absolutely can or can not run an FSVT front pad in the stock CSVT caliper. Seems like a waste to cover so little of the bigger rotor with stock pads.

I'm no brake expert but the bigger surface area will have less of an effect compared to the size of the rotor. With the FSVT rotors being bigger you're gaining more leverage on the hub increasing braking. Looking at it in pad sizes a smaller pad would have greater psi compared to a larger pad but that would (in my mind) make your brakes lock up easier. Spreading the pressure out more would make it harder to lock the brakes up thus increasing stopping power. As I said though I'm no expert.

That is an interesting take on it. I haven't heard that perspective before. Seems that the larger pad with greater surface area would be more beneficial than a slightly higher psi. I'm also no brake expert though. Would also like to hear what other have to say too.

So fanatic is correct. Moving the leverage point further from the hub give more breaking power. Think of it like putting a pipe on your ratchet for more power to break a nut loose. You are also correct that a larger pad would help but changing out the rear calipers is not really a option at this point while still retaining factory ebrake. I have the same kit along with baer up front and I love the breaking power

Right, but I had read on another thread that the FSVT front pds (or maybe the rears?) fit into the stock rear calipers.