Print Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
#1588201 06/11/06 02:50 PM
H
Hard-core CEG'er
OP Offline
Hard-core CEG'er
H
So, alot of you guys know me by now, and what I did for a living for the last 8 years. For those that don't,

I worked at Wal-Mart, climbing the ladder for 7 years, making a fairly low wage, but enough to pay for my car and all the bills.

I jumped ship last year to Canadian Tire to be a manager. Apparently the grass was not greener, and I quit that job a few weeks ago. Two days ago I moved to Edmonton, Alberta to start my new job.

Starting tomorrow, I will be working as a CNC machinist for a company that manufactures wear edges for mining and industrial equipment. This industry is booming right now up here and the company is more than willing to pay my way through several courses at NAIT, which means I can work my way to making this a tradewithin 5 years. The bonus for me is that I am one of the only people employed that will be working there that knows how to operate all the machines the company services, also I voluntarily took the night shift.

The company is willing to pay unlimited overtime for thier staff, so I have already signed on for 70 hours a week, which is about the minimum that I worked at Wal-Mart and Canadian Tire. With my work ethic and abilities, I will likely be the lead hand within three months, and foreman within 2 years at which point they ship me out for training.
There are several new mines opening in Canada all over the place so the field is going to be strong for a long time to come.

Right from the start I will be making almost 3 times what I made at Wal-Mart (Wal-Mart payed much better than Canadian Tire) and within 5 years I should be able to accomplish a few goals:

-300whp+ Focus by next year
-Save enough to buy a house outright in three years
-2009 Camaro
-Catch up on my RRSPs and Mutual Funds/investments that I haven't been able to keep up with