• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

P0172 and P0175. No recent changes/modifications to the car. Any ideas?

AGrayson84

CEG'er
Hi everyone. I went through the forum and saw several threads regarding these two codes --P0172 and P0175 (System Too Rich, Bank 1 and 2)-- but I'm not seeing the OP coming back on the thread and mentioning if they were able to fix the problem. Here's the specifics on my car:

'98 CSVT with full 3L with COP out of a 2004 Taurus. The engine likely has under 90k miles at this point (I don't have any solid records on the engine from the previous owners). I have been running Shell 93 octane for the past 10 months of owning it. The car has a Superchips 4-bank eliminator with some sort of minimal tune on it (it seems to add timing below 4k RPM to compensate for not having secondary intake runners with butterflies like the stock 2.5L intake), and the tune turns off the EGR and DPFE codes since those are blocked off. I replaced one of the front O2 sensors since the other front O2 sensor looked relatively new, and the other looked like the it was an original Motorcraft.