• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

3 Liter Engine ?

I imagine you're asking about a warranty that is included when a shop does the work? Well I don't think anybody will warranty it let alone do the work. It is completely custom and shops don't like taking those risks. I know blackcoog sells 3L engines and he may warranty the engine itself for a time, but install will severly effect that so he might not at all.

Thanks for the response. I was referring to the warranty that comes when buying an engine. The site I found on here only has a 30 day warranty which i feel is not long enough when you are spending 2k to 3k.

I work in the auto salvage industry and once you modify and/or install the engine it is unlikely that ANY yard will honor their warranty, as it will be an Escape or Taurus engine being installed in a Contour. Beyond that, 30 to 90 days is the industry standard as far as warranty goes. Unless you purchase their extended warranty. You should give them the details of what you are doing and see what their stance is. Which "site" are you looking at that is charging $2000+ for a 3.0L Duratec?

sounds like he is refereing to 3Lduratec.com. As noted no junkyard is going to warrenty the engine if it isn't installed in the vehicle it is specified for. So for 3lduratec to offer a 30 warrenty, thats pretty good, imho. I doubt you are going to find anything better.

sounds like he is refereing to 3Lduratec.com. As noted no junkyard is going to warrenty the engine if it isn't installed in the vehicle it is specified for. So for 3lduratec to offer a 30 warrenty, thats pretty good, imho. I doubt you are going to find anything better.

Thanks!