• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

new summer tire suggestion

SVT3Rivieres

CEG'er
ok its my first time shopping for performance tire, my svt was having 205/55/16 BFG traction t/a on it and the're getting bald

i have good winter tire so i intend to use them just for summer only, i want to find a good compromise between price and performance, so if you suggest the more pricey one you better have good argument :p

so i narrow my choice to those, all 205/55/16:

BF Goodrich G-Force Sports
Goodyear Eagle F1 GS-D3
Fuzion ZRi
Kuhmo Exsta SPT
Hankook Ventur R-S2

the goodyear seem to be the best of them but also much more expensive thant the other and the 3 last one seem to be cheaper

so what do you think ?

Are you set on the 205/55-16 or would 225/50-16 work?

For 205/55-16 I'd say either of these:
Kumho MX. They're only $85 each from tirerack and will outperform any tire you listed.
Hankook R-S2 Z212. They're $91 from discounttiredirect and GrassRootMotorsports ranked it higher than the Kumho MX.

For 225/50-16, I'd say Falken Azenis RT-615. They're $108 from vulcantires.com and will outperform any tire under $200, even the Kumho MX, (and probably most tires over $200 too).

Last edited:
Both 205's and 225's are taller than the 215's that the car came with.... the diameter of the 225 *should* be slightly less than the 205 though. I guess it's just a matter of personal preference. Also, a 205 tire will weigh less than a 225 tire. I can't remember.. but either the Kumho or Hankook's 225 weighed a little more than 5lbs more than their 205's.