• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

Good new for my mechanical abilities

XCondorX

New CEG'er
Lancaster County Pennsylvania in a little Hick tow
Well as some of you know I ran into a wall in my clutch installation. I could not get the clutch to disengage. I dropped the trans twice, upgraded the mastercylinder to match the heavy duty pressure plate and bled about a gallon of brake fluid through the system and nothing worked. So I finally got stessed out enough that I broke down, put it back together and dropped it off at the garage.
I recieved good news from the garage yesterday. It turns out I am a good mechanic after all. I did everything perfect. I was given eather the wrong pressure plate or else one that was too thick. But, at least it's getting fixed and it will be on the road early next week. So hopefully I will run into some of the local Lancaster people very soon.

Wrong pressure plate, bummer.
Glad you got eveyrthing squared away and all is good.
Again, congrats on doing the job yourself. Good job!

Thanx for The congrats. More good news, I got my car back on Tuesday and it's freakin sweet. I love the new exhaust that I put on and never got to try out. Everything seem to be in good working order except for the upside down steering wheel. That was my fault not the shop.

WooHoo! I'm glad you're happy with the way the car runs and sounds. :cool:

What kind of exhaust did you put on?

You correctly installed a clutch the first time out but put the steering wheel on upside down? :crazy: Just messin' with ya. ;) Things happen.

You're in Lancaster...are you coming to the meet tomorrow at Sonic?