• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

Replacing Syncros

Blackcoog

Hard-core CEG'er
Anyone ever replaced syncros in the MTX75? I have a Contour SVT that I'm working on and it has the 2nd and 3rd gear grinds. I picked up a transmission from a Cougar member here in MN. I cracked it open to inspect it and the diff was bad so I swapped in an extra one I had. The syncros looked ok but I'm no expert. I installed it and the car still grinds in 2nd and 3rd!!? WTF! Is that a case of bad luck or can there be another cause for your transmission to grind in 2nd and 3rd? Cable issues would show in every gear and you'd think it wouldn't go into gear at all if the adjustment was way off.

Do I need a press or any special tools to replace syncros? Should I tear it down and bring the transmission to a shop with the parts or will I get raped? I think I'll get raped so I'd rather do it myself and buy or rent the tools needed to do it.

Anyone ever replaced syncros in the MTX75? I have a Contour SVT that I'm working on and it has the 2nd and 3rd gear grinds. I picked up a transmission from a Cougar member here in MN. I cracked it open to inspect it and the diff was bad so I swapped in an extra one I had. The syncros looked ok but I'm no expert. I installed it and the car still grinds in 2nd and 3rd!!? WTF! Is that a case of bad luck or can there be another cause for your transmission to grind in 2nd and 3rd? Cable issues would show in every gear and you'd think it wouldn't go into gear at all if the adjustment was way off.

Do I need a press or any special tools to replace syncros? Should I tear it down and bring the transmission to a shop with the parts or will I get raped? I think I'll get raped so I'd rather do it myself and buy or rent the tools needed to do it.