• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

P1151 on a V6

annacon

CEG'er
Hello, first post here. A brief rundown of the Contour:
140+K miles, car runs excellent. I just finished repairing the EGR system including new EGR valve, pressure differential sensor, replaced the vacuum lines on the sensor and removing the throttle body and cleaning the EGR ports. I believe cleaning the ports would have been the only job necessary to clear the code I was getting for the EGR system but I am new to the car and it is going to my daughter so while my hands were dirty I did everything my OCD told me to do.
Now my current code problem:
I ran the car for about 100 miles and CEL came on and I pulled the code and got "P1151-manufacturer controlled fuel and air metering". I/M monitors show all applicable systems ready except "EVAP". Reseaching here and elsewhere tells me to replace the the 02 sensor which I will do.
My question:
Can these two problems be related or are they independent of one another?
Through all of this I must repeat that the car runs great showing no signs of a vacuum leak.
Thank you, Keith

[FONT=arial,verdana,helvetica,sans-serif]P1151[/FONT][FONT=arial,verdana,helvetica,sans-serif]Lack of Upstream Heated Oxygen Sensor Switch - Sensor Indicates Lean - Bank No. 2. [/FONT]

might be time for a new O2 sensor. but check for vacuum leaks first on bank 2.

also might suggest a intake cleaning along with replaceing the intake gaskets, then see what happens to this code.