• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

My Rear Strut Tower is Broken.. Structural Advice!

Yes I am going to talk to him about that as well. Reinforcing the otherside as well as the one thats Broken so when I put the RSTB it doesnt hurt the Strut tower.

Thanks for the reminder! Im actually going to be giving him my RSTB and saying GO FOR IT!!!!!

- amyn

stamping fracture

stamping fracture

Damn, never seen that before on any vehicle, but I do have another possible explanation. Not sure If I should admit this (lol), but I'm an engineer for Ford and have worked in stamping facilities. These shock toewrs and inner wheel wells are stamped seperately and obviously welded together. Every part stamped has the possibility of coming out of the stamping press with either a split and/or stress fracture. Maybe the steel itself was defective in this area, or the stamping dies were "misaligned" or there was too much press pressure when stamping the part or maybe there was insufficient lubrication sprayed on the steel as it was being formed/stamped while going through the series of dies that actually form the part. In any event, what I'm saying is most defective stamped parts (probably 99.9%) get caught right away and are scrapped out. However, the possibility of a split piece of metal or a stress fracture getting through is always possible. Add to that the amount of force that area is subjected to and yes, it can blow (obviously) apart. The twisted area by the rust is in my opinion secondary as to what really happened. Not that this helped in anyway, just another observation. Glad to hear it can be repaired and that it's not going to cost you an arm and a leg.