• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

loss of power intermittent

xplicit

New CEG'er
Hello all!

I am having difficulty with my new car, and I was hoping for some help.

When I am driving, I am suddenly losing power, my RPMs drip to 0, and my CEL Light flickers. It feels like I am just learning how to drive standard and am "bunny hopping" in first. It seems to only happen when the engine is at operating temp, and the problem goes away after about 10 seconds or when I downshift, and usually happens intermittently for about 5 minutes, then goes away for 5 or 10 minutes and then starts up again.

I have changed the fuel pump and sock, the relays, and am about to do the spark plugs and fuel filter as well. I'm not feeling all that hopeful though. Does anyone have any ideas? I can't get a Code read because the problem is happening too infrequently.

Thanks for your help all!

well i was going to say check your injector harness, as my zetec acted the sameway on the highway and i kept clutch starting it at 75mph, not fun and wasnt doing it on purpose at first but then i got pissed and just let it do its thing. but now seeing you have a duratec, im not certain.

if it happens like in a instant, like car dies right as soon as it happens, i would look towards fuel injectors (not saying bad injectors but something dealing with injectors), if car stumbles a bit then dies, then id look to spark.

thats about all i can give

Welcome :) . Test the battery and alternator.

Start by charging the battery well. Then test the battery and alternator.

Charge the battery well, then test battery and alternator.

Battery test. Engine off, headlights on for one minute. Voltage across battery terminals should be 12 to 12.5.

Alternator test. Engine running, voltage across battery terminals should be 14 to 14.5.