• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

Troll-eqsue

Ronan

CEG'er
Hi guys. I've moved to California from Ireland, and after much looking around for cars, I finally got some wheels. I work in sales, so I needed a 4-door, between 17 and 28k, less than 4 years old.

I settled for a 08 VW GTI 4-door with the DSG. Its also got 18's, i-pod and a sunroof. Its a nice bus, but I was a bit sickened that Ford didn't make something I actually wanted to drive.

If the SHO was still around, never mind the SVT, it would have been a no brainer. I did consider the Mazda Speed 6, but I really liked the DSG box on the VW, and I think the 6 is starting to look old (doesn't help that the new one is already on sale in Europe, and it looks sweet!).

I still have my V6 though, I gave it to my younger bro. I couldn't bare to sell it, and at least I still get to drive it on hols. I may be still in the market for a SVT Tour, as the VW doesn't get under my skin like the Ford did. If anyone is selling a SVT Tour in Northern Cali soon, PM me! :)

I will post pics of the new whip when I get some software than can reduce the pic size on windows vista. :)

Be prepaired to see the awesome suckiness of Ford on this side of the pond. They are hopeless I tell ya, hopeless!

Be prepaired to see the awesome suckiness of Ford on this side of the pond. They are hopeless I tell ya, hopeless!
now you get to experience our pain firsthand!

You're lucky if you decide to look for an SVT. Used cars go for a good price in California (surprising given the cost of living for everything else), and the climate is ideal so they're usually rust-free. I bought mine from a CEGer in San Jose. Be prepared for less luxury features than your Mondeo had (again Euro>NA), but they're still fun cars.

Thanks for the warm welcome guys. I'm living in San Francisco, and working in Hayward which is about a 35min commute.