• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

Idle Issues

JesusFreak

Hard-core CEG'er
What sort of things would cause a SVT to stay at around 2K RPM for over 15-20 seconds at idle. Changed the IAC, and new autolite plugs, same thing...

yep, I have the same exact problem (except for the fact that I haven't replaced my IAC) I did the TH fix and it worked for about three weeks, now the car is idling through first gear, into second and up to about 15-20mph, not as bad as before (and acts like a automatic cruise control for any speed below 1500-2000rpm) Its a duratec 1995 tour. I don't have time, i'm a student and I also don't have much for tools. can I take it to a mechanic? (dad has a few friends who are) I just want my car to drive like its supposed to! so tired of this problem.

same problem here......done EVERYTHING (yes, IAC is a new OEM unit, no its not a vaccuum leak and not the PCV either) except replace computer. According to my datastream, the iac motor is being requested to rais the idle to that for some reason but I have checked the input parameters and they are all well within spec so I would assume that it is a programming error and needs to be reflashed. Just haven't had the time to take it to ford.....besides I dont trust the ford dealer here.

Check the little rubber hose from the PCV to the brass tube under the T-body. They get old and crack. Also the LIM & UIM gaskets can leak as they age. I'd do an UIM/LIM rebuild and replace that small hose and inspect the colored hard vac lines on the back side of the UIM.

Not to sound like a complete moron here, but is it just me or does my 98 se tour 2.5l not have a pcv valve anywhere. my haynes manual shows a pcv valve for the 2.5l engine in a hose connected to the oil separator mounted under the lim, but I see nothing even with the air filter box completely removed. am i blind???