• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

Rotary SVT

Uh, ok first of all I'm talking about the earlier rotaries, not the Renesis, second, I'm not talking about horsepower, which is why I said torque, more specifically, low end torque. I could be wrong and I am by no means an expert on anything rotary or RX-7 including the weight, I'm just thinking that a 3L would put out way better hp/tq in a much easier swap. So calm down about your friends with 11ty billion hp rotaries, since that has nothing to do with what I'm talking about, now if you could show me some good tq numbers for all the different gens, or find out which engine this guy is supposedly running, I might learn something and be better educated next time. Just a thought.

Low numbers a rotory puts out?! My rx7 put down 460 rwhp. Thats pretty descent considering the weight of the motor.

i just dont understand why they would go to the trouble of putting a rotary in this.
I mean, rx7 people have been known to put LS1's in their cars because its just so much easier to put down big numbers and have it remain reliable (i'm not an rx7 guy, however I know a guy that puts ls1s in them, so I just go by what he says... so I guess you can take my comment with a grain of salt... ha i guess thats how this thread got started anyways.)

yeah... a guy up here i see at the speed way all the time has a rx-7 2nd gen with a nice beefy 350 in it that runs 11's i think.. maybe 10's.. cant remember lol.. but it has chrome fenders.. pretty nifty! :D

Haha.....all I gotta say is yeah right kid.... Get some new friends.

Well, here is one of my friends LS1 RX-7. Verified 12 second car with no suspension setup or tuning. I personally ran a 13.3 and missed 3rd gear on the up shift. He is making it into a National level EM AutoX car. I have also driven it in AutoX and holy crap does it scoot.