• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

ohms

elraido

I kant speel
Ok, I sound like a noob here but what exactly is an ohm and how does it effect sound quality etc. I know that most home theater speakers and receivers are 8 ohms and a lot of car audio is 4 ohms or lower. Also how do you wire for a specific ohm?

Read the 1st section of the Basic Installer book from MECP one idea, but that costs about $20..... so I'll do what I can for you....

Ohms is a measure of resistance which it seems like you sort of already know... Most HT systems are 8ohm, known as high impedance speakers, MOST car audio speakers are 4 ohms, some factory systems are 1 ohm speakers and some subs of course are 2, 4, dual 2, or dual 4 for the most part. The most basic thing to know about ohms is how to put them together, which there are 2 ways of doing so, series and parallel. when speakers are hooked in series you go + to - to + to -, and this style of hookup your resistance values are added together so Rtotal = R1 + R2 + R3......, the other way is by taking all of your +'s and -'s and combing them. Knows as Parallel, the computation for parallel is a little more crazy... 1 / R = 1 / R1 + 1 / R2 + 1 / R3 +... Usually series and parallel are use more for doing subs IMO than for interior speakers. I guess one other thing would be normally you notice an almost doubling in speaker output for every halving of resistance, for example, an amp I'm looking at puts out 500w x 1 @4 ohms, and it outputs 900w x 1 @ 2ohm, so halving the resistance almost doubles output at the amp that is... if you were to hook up an 8 ohm speaker, you'd probably only see about 200 or 300 watts output i'm guessing...

If someone wants to correct me go ahead, Some of this is things i've heard talking with other installers, most of it though is text book knowledge...