• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

97 Ford Contour SE v6 2.5 L starting problems

stephangray

New CEG'er
I'm far from an expert when it comes to cars, this site has been great to me as of recent in giving me some insight as to what might be wrong with my car, but I still havent been able to fix it. Been down for about 2 weeks and I'm getting frustrated becasue every time I think I fixed it.... well I didn't.

Ford Contour SE
V6, 2.5 L
about 125K

As a quick summary as to what cause this issue...My AC has not worked in a while, to cut a long story short I ended up over filling the Anti freeze, probably 2 days later my car got extremely over heated (anti freeze steaming and boiling and sounded as if other fluids were boiling, yea bad I know), As I was driving the car cut off, I threw it in neutral and started it back up, but I no longer had power steering. I got it back home strong arming it. We came to the conclusion the belt had slipped off, which it did, I fixed the belt, but when starting the car back up the engine made a squeeling noise and was kinda skipping. We determined the belt was too lose because my tension pulley was bad. After replacing that, now the car will not start at all. It will revs up but wont turn over(dont know if thats correct terms, but it revs up and wont start). We put everything back together the way it was carefully, why it started at first but not now. The fuel pump is working, my car has a timing chain so its not likely broke I don't think. I've been told its probably a timing issue, possibly the timing guides might be worn down?

basically I'm having trouble figuring out what the problem is, and when I know what it is, how would I go about fixing it (being not so car great and all)

any help would be GREATLY appreciated

Last edited: