• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

You want pics?

ChattavegasSE

Hard-core CEG'er
Ok, here's some random pics from my slow AE86 build:
ry%3D400

ry%3D400

ry%3D400

ry%3D400

ry%3D400

I'm no expert, but I think that your valves are going to seal a little bit better now.

I think a 20valve 4age swap would have been cooler.:cool: Of course, it would be hard to do on a tight budget.

To be complete, it needs to be running smoothly and everything finished - paint and all. Truthfully it won't take much to complete really. I figure I should have it running by winter for sure; exterior paint is going to be last; and who knows when I'll be able to afford that. :)

I figure if/when I blow up the rear open diff, I'll swap a GTS rear with bigger shafts/gears, rear discs, and LSD option. Then if/when I blow up the motor I can do any swap really. Right now I am leaning more towards an SR20DET swap as there are mount kits availible and 200hp bolt-on is better than the 20v 4AGE's 165hp or the 16v 4AGZE 160hp. Of course, motor swaps aren't cheap; even the 20v 4AGE swap is a major headache since you're converting a FWD motor to RWD. Mounts need work, the dizzy and water outlet are in the firewall which have to be custom modified.

Yeah Goumba I'm thinking the motor oughtta run a little better without a blown head gasket or stuck valves. ;)

There are more pics (and in order and described) on my club4AG page. :cool:

Was that a plastic or metal impeller on the waterpump:shrug:

BTW, how about a reverse mod, swap in a blown Ecotec!

All metal, Roger. No plastic on the motor at all other than the timing covers. Ecotec would be nice but I'd hate to convert a FWD motor to RWD and tackle that wiring nightmare! :(