• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

3.0 Porting Pictures

mamisano

CEG'er
Hey all, here are some pictures of the heads I've been working on. I've been porting the 3.0 heads to work with my SVT intake using the Bugzuki plates and a rotary tool.

I used JBWeld Stick to create a full split port as I plan on keeping the IMRC plates.

The ports still need to be cleaned up :)

2 ports 90% complete, 3rd port just started
3 Dremel burs, a sanding roll and a Bugzuki porting template.

Head%20Porting%20006a.jpg

Same head, closer up:
Head%20Porting%20001a.jpg

Middle Port:
Head%20Porting%20004a1.jpg

Right Port:
Head%20Porting%20001a2.jpg

Looks like a fun job! Is there a specific way the JB Weld is put in there or is it slopped in there and then grinded away. I ask because I have no experience with it.

JBWeld Stick is like modeling clay before it hardens. Just mush it up to activate it and place it where needed. I also wet my fingers and smoothed the surfaces as it was drying.
Cures in about an hour and used the sanding roll to grind down. The burs are way too course to use on the JBWeld :)

Nice job! I did mine in a similar fashion, but I used JB Weld Qwik and masking tape. The JB Stick looks like it works well.

Nice job. JB Stick weld is the only way to go. Looks like a lot of work though. Let us know how it performs.

Good luck
Paul

Nice job. JB Stick weld is the only way to go. Looks like a lot of work though. Let us know how it performs.

Good luck
Paul

Yeah - but once you get the 1st port the way you like, the rest are MUCH easier.

It would have been much more difficult without your plates! I totally forgot that the primary ports were slightly smaller than the secondaries.
I was looking at the heads with the plate off and thought I screwed something up until I researched the port sizes, LOL.

Good luck man. Keep us posted :)