• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

Anybody want to help me change a timing belt?

XT_

CEG'er
Hi all :)

I posted in the other forum how my timing belt is hitting the plastic cover when It's cold out. It seems to go away when the car warms up. I have 97 Zetec

Anybody around the Buffalo area willing to help me replace my timing belt. I do not feel like paying the dealership 600 dollars.. No way.

I'll buy you dinner, and drop some cash in your pocket.

Agreed. If the belt was shredding you'd think it would do it all the time.
I assume that you took the cover off and checked the belt? How many miles on that belt?

I did not take the cover off :( I'm a computer engineer, not a mechanic, lol

I can fix cars, albeit much older ones...

Come over and help me, lol

I bought the car used, dont know if was ever changed...

sounds more like slap then shreading, i drove mine with 'slap' for almost 6 years before i replaced the belt (at 132k) and the belt was still fine. I only replaced it because i was changing the blown waterpump.

If the weather was nicer I would drive up and lend you a hand since I've done them on quiet a few zetecs. Are you in or just around buffalo, and if you're around what's your exact location?

I live in Tonawanda, NY for now. We are looking to buy a house soon. I used to live in Clarence.

I live in Tonawanda, NY for now. We are looking to buy a house soon. I used to live in Clarence.

dude, lets meet up sometime. as much as i'd love to help you, its too friggin cold out. we can just chill though. we can meet up with pre98 as well

I"d love to chill, but I work 60+ hours a week. Couple that with having a wife and kids, I have no time left.