• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

UIM Cleaning tips and tricks

dfrank

New CEG'er
I would like to be able to load the UIM cleaning procedure from the Duratec Maintenance Sticky -- I'm just getting un-rendered PHP code (I think) -- is there a browser or plugin I need to read the Duratec Maintenance procedures?

Seperate question -- where would I look for how to access the VSS? I assume it is by removing the LF wheel...?

The first question soared right over my head, as i'm far from a techie. As for the second inquiry; The VSS is located on top of the transmission bell housing. It sits right next to the shift cables 'C' brackets. Taking the left wheel off makes it easier to see, yes. But i've always been able to take it off by jacking the car really high, & reaching it from the bottom.

No plugin is going to help the issues with forums/posts not showing. It something the site owners need to fix.

On the UIM cleaning, I suggest removing entirely and using a good carbon cleaner. I've found that a long plastic fiber brush with a wire handle does a good job of loosening things up after a soak.

The search feature around here has sucked for a while. Especially the archives. I'm sure at some point, they'll fix them. There really isn't much to cleaning the upper & lower manifolds. U simply take them off & go to town with carb cleaner & a long skinny brush to get inside the crevices. And of course, make sure you've got healthy gaskets. If not, now would be the perfect time to replace them.

Just got done with this, and here's how it went...

My SVT has 110K on it, which in the grand scheme of things doesn't seem like that much...I was kind of shocked at just how bad the crud was inside my intakes. The crap was really crusted on, and it was *thick*. Once I got both manifolds off, it was a breeze to do the spark plugs lol.

IMG_20140815_192847_470_zps04457e4f.jpg