+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast

Thread: 04/05 Port matched setup -- do I have a complete shopping list?

Default 04/05 Port matched setup -- do I have a complete shopping list?

Hello everyone!

I can get a good deal on an 04/05 Taurus motor to swap into my 2000 SVT. I read the forums here and at New Cougar and have put together a short list of necessities for this swap. I am a proper mechanic that has built a few motors, so tools and know-how should be accounted it.

What seems best for me, is to get the 04/05 motor, port-match it for the SVT intake manifold and to also swap in the SVT cams. With that in mind, here's the short-list of what I think that I need to make this happen. Please let me know if I'm right, wrong, and/or missing something.

3.0L Engine
    Head gasket set (least expensive way to get all of the ones that I need)
    Oil Pan gasket (Better now while the motor is out)
    New SVT timing chain, guides, and tensioner
    Porting plates & Coil Pack harness from hybridaction.com (?)

-- after the fact, I can look into a larger MAF, TB, and a proper tune. Since I'm staying as naturally aspirated, I don't believe that I'll need larger injectors (though a proper clean of the stockers might be good).

-- I removed this engine/transaxle in the fall to replace the transaxle, so I know that everything unbolts just fine. I already have headers, so no need to add 'em to the list.

-- Lastly, is there anything else that I should consider? This car is likely to remain naturally aspirated, so internal upgrades are out of scope/budget.

Thanks alot!
    2000 SVT Contour, I/H/E --- 1993 GT Probe, supercharged --- 1998 SubVert Trek 2.0, stock

Looks like a good start. So you are buying the 'head gasket set' but won't be removing the heads or using the headgaskets, correct? Just bought the kit to use all the other gaskets, ie; timing cover, valve cover, intake, etc?
    *CLICK HERE ---> 1995 SE 3L WITH MATCHING TRAILER <--- CLICK HERE*