• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

P1451 Help

SaTiVa550

CEG'er
My tour is giving me a 1451 code. I have spent all day trying to narrow it down. What I want to know is how do I tell whether it is the Evap canister purge valve or the vent? Also Is there any specific ways to test them to see which is doing what? I have spent all day searching in the archives and forum, as well as going out to physically locate them. A link, a pic, Any help would be great.

2000 Cse sport, 2.5 130k/mi

Thanks!!:laugh:

Conditions:
Canister Vent (CV) solenoid circuit failure.

Possible Causes:
VPWR circuit open
CV circuit open
CV circuit shorted to PWR or PWR GND
CV solenoid damaged
PCM damaged

Ok, so the cv valve and cv vent is one and the same? So then, I test the wires and chexk my haynes mani. for the proper readings. Or am I way off?...yes I'm a noob.....

the valve is mounted to the firewall just above the alternator on my v6. It connects to the large vapor line from the rear of the car and to the black plastic tube connected to my Egr valve.

Is the valve and the vent the same thing? Thanks for pointing me to where it's at. I thought that was it but the pic in my book, and what it actually looks like is term different things. I also found a metal tube connected to the bottom port of the egr valve split. Which is interesting cuz everything that i read says that this tube should be a rubber house. Could this cause the EVR issue? At any rate I'll be replacing it tomorrow and see if that don't help.