+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Where do I plug the diagnostic tool

  1. #1

    Exclamation Where do I plug the diagnostic tool

    I have a 2000 Ford Contour with electrical problems. I have never found where I can plug in the diagnostic tool to get the codes. I've seen some say under the steering wheel?

    My battery cable had a short and I kept wiggling the wires to start the car. I now know I may have blown something in the PCM??? Is that right??? Where is the PCM in the car?

    Thanks for any help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    formerly las vegas, now dallas TX
    Posts
    3,815

    Default

    Its right next to the hood release latch. Under the steering wheel towards the left. Take a flash light & peek under there. U'll see it. And if u have to wiggle battery wires to start the car, that has nuthn to do with ur pcm. Somewhere along that line is an exposed segment. Find & cover it up.
    Julian
    98.5 csvt #6226 of 6535
    Rally Inspired 3L turbo'd monsTOUR
    Modifications??? well...lets just say this ain'tcha grandma's contour

  3. #3

    Default

    Somewhere along which line is an exposed segment? I've even taken the glove box out checking wires and nothing seems frayed. The AC module in the junction box doesn't have power going to it either. First this started with a blower switch going bad and then replaced. It worked great for 15 min. and then stopped. Then I replaced the blower resistor, now the blower motor and now I do not have power at any point on the blower switch, AC/Heat knob and temp knob console. In addition, yesterday while I was checking wires, my turn signals quit. Now on my dash I have the check engine light, the air bag light, and a couple more lit up. I just want my car back together and on the road again. Preferably with AC/Heat and turn signals. So you don't think this has anything to do with the PCM? I really appreciate your help. I'm just learning how to work on my car and this is a tough way to start.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    formerly las vegas, now dallas TX
    Posts
    3,815

    Default

    Ur problem is electrical for sure. I'm not that good with electricals unfortunately. But the wires i was referring to are the ones that go to the battery terminals. One stops at the starter, & goes all the way to the alternator. Check for continuity in the wires to make sure theres no fraying. If u're new to working on cars, this is gonna be a tough one for u to handle by urself
    Julian
    98.5 csvt #6226 of 6535
    Rally Inspired 3L turbo'd monsTOUR
    Modifications??? well...lets just say this ain'tcha grandma's contour

  5. #5

    Default

    Okay, I'll find the place to plug in the diagnostic tool (near the steering wheel right?) and then I'll see what comes up. I did have a frayed wire leading from the battery - that's the one I kept wiggling. I finally wrapped it in tape. I'll get out early in the AM before it is 100 degrees and see what more damage I can do! Thanks so much.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    formerly las vegas, now dallas TX
    Posts
    3,815

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MzzzKathee View Post
    Okay, I'll find the place to plug in the diagnostic tool (near the steering wheel right?) and then I'll see what comes up. I did have a frayed wire leading from the battery - that's the one I kept wiggling. I finally wrapped it in tape. I'll get out early in the AM before it is 100 degrees and see what more damage I can do! Thanks so much.
    Bingo. Its the one i was describing.
    Julian
    98.5 csvt #6226 of 6535
    Rally Inspired 3L turbo'd monsTOUR
    Modifications??? well...lets just say this ain'tcha grandma's contour

  7. #7

    Default

    Okay - perfect description of where the plug in for the diagnostics is located. I found it right away. Received no codes??? Soldered the big fat wire coming from the rear of the battery, wrapped in electrical tape and put battery back together. Car started which I was happy that I had not done something terribly wrong there. But, still no power to the dash switch things for the AC/HVAC (all three are dead). Again I checked all the fuses in the under hood box but how do I check the 60 amp fuses? Where the heck do those wires that go into the dash switch things lead to? Could I have a frayed wire along there? How I am checking that is my probe (with a good ground) placed directly to the ends of the wires or into the plug-ins. I hate to sweat through this hot summer but I can if I must. What I can't do is drive without defrost. I forgot to see if I had turn signals today. I do have radio, brake lights, head lights, etc. Thanks for helping this Girlie Girl learn how to take care of her own car.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    formerly las vegas, now dallas TX
    Posts
    3,815

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MzzzKathee View Post
    Okay - perfect description of where the plug in for the diagnostics is located. I found it right away. Received no codes??? Soldered the big fat wire coming from the rear of the battery, wrapped in electrical tape and put battery back together. Car started which I was happy that I had not done something terribly wrong there. But, still no power to the dash switch things for the AC/HVAC (all three are dead). Again I checked all the fuses in the under hood box but how do I check the 60 amp fuses? Where the heck do those wires that go into the dash switch things lead to? Could I have a frayed wire along there? How I am checking that is my probe (with a good ground) placed directly to the ends of the wires or into the plug-ins. I hate to sweat through this hot summer but I can if I must. What I can't do is drive without defrost. I forgot to see if I had turn signals today. I do have radio, brake lights, head lights, etc. Thanks for helping this Girlie Girl learn how to take care of her own car.
    A girlie girl??? Wow. Impressed...U're welcome. Its what we do here. Like u brought out already, U've popped a fuse somewhere. Do u have ur car manual? Theres a page in there with detail outlines matching specific fuses to the parts they control. I dont have one here with me at present. So look to see which fuse controls the A/C HVAC. Just so u know, theres another fuse box right next to the diagnostic plug u found. U pull the panel to expose the fuses.
    Julian
    98.5 csvt #6226 of 6535
    Rally Inspired 3L turbo'd monsTOUR
    Modifications??? well...lets just say this ain'tcha grandma's contour

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Villa Park, IL
    Posts
    1,288

    Default

    I don't think you mentioned it, but there is a 2nd fuse panel under the driver side dash, a little to the right of the diagnostic terminal you just found. You may have some blown fuse(s) in there. There is a black release button that once pressed will allow the panel to fold downward, exposing the fuses. Check those.
    -Adam-
    00 SF/MB CSVT #1464 - 2005 port-matched 3L - SOLD
    00 SF/MB CSVT #0939 - 2005 - GT3076R - 3.0T- SOLD
    Repairs / Installs? Yep, I do that.

  10. #10

    Default

    Thank you for responding. I have even taken the fuse box out from the driver side and inspected the whole thing (got that tip from this forum). I've pulled every fuse in that box and the under hood box and inspected for breaks. None found. Checked to make sure all the amps were correct on the fuses. All I know to do is look at the fuses to see if there is a break - is there something else I can do? I've pulled known good modules (those bigger black boxes) and switched them all around and all seem to be okay. The 60 amp fuses under the hood - I dont' know how to determine if they are good or not. I am sorry I don't know all the exact names for these parts. I do have my owner's manual as I'm the original owner and it has helped me get this far - that and you guys. There is this box to the side of the under dash fuse box that has a lot of wires going into it. What is that and should I check it? Can I pull those things out?

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. My Diagnostic Trouble Codes
    By FrankSVT in forum General Troubleshooting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-24-2010, 06:44 PM
  2. New need diagnostic help...
    By Msudtg in forum New Member Classroom
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-23-2009, 09:01 PM
  3. Electrical Diagnostic Connector
    By Johncc in forum General Troubleshooting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-18-2009, 01:46 PM
  4. Diagnostic Port ?
    By 99CVST in forum General Troubleshooting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-08-2008, 09:36 PM
  5. Other than Diagnostic tools?
    By CSVT_2004 in forum PCM Tuning
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-08-2007, 12:51 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts